Venepuncture 

I took blood for the second first time! The first time was two years ago in a practical in class, not in a medical setting, so that hardly counts. This time I got to take blood from Alex Smith, a plastic, rubber arm containing a fountain of red dyed liquid. What a cooperative patient!

It is easier than I thought it would be. I got it the first time with the straight needle and the second time with the butterfly needle (looks nothing like an insect) and I narrowly avoided pricking myself, and mislabelled the bottles by placing today’s date under ‘D.O.B’. All in all, a successful session and I can’t wait to start taking blood from real arms. I will name my first child after the first person I take blood from, that’s how excited I am. 

Here’s hoping they have a nice name and a good vein. 

Leave a Reply

